Random thoughts about Blended Teaching

For over 10 years I have designed and developed blended courses.  For the past eight years I have worked with faculty in higher ed and high school, assisting them with transitioning a face-to-face course to an online or blended model.  In an attempt to structure or perhaps streamline the design approach, I have relied on the Quality Matters standards to guide me and them.  I have found that most faculty are not designers.  While they have developed (and are comfortable with developing) courses, not many have designed blended or online courses.

Most recently, I designed, developed, and facilitated a formal course, Introduction to Designing Online Courses.  This is a graduate course for which faculty can earn 3 semester hours of graduate credit. So, while the UCF and Educause course is flexible, the course that I teach is more structured with required assignments and due dates.  I hope that the UCF/Educause course will provide me with some new ideas and resources!

Comments are closed.