Day Three: Commit to a Writing Practice

I’ve put off writing to this prompt because I’m not sure that I have “three most important songs” in my life.  I like music and have what some might call an eclectic collection of or taste for music.  In my teens and beyond I listened to and was inspired by classic rock musicians such as Janis Joplin, The Who, Jethro Tull, The Rolling Stones, and of course, The Beatles.  I still enjoy and listen to this music.  In fact, Something, written by George Harrison and sung be The Beatles inspires and moves me, so perhaps it can be categorized as an important song.

In my 30s I was introduced to opera.  I had an opportunity to do some work for a local opera company not on the artistic side but on the business side of things – accounting, ticket sales, etc.  My position evolved, however, and I became more involved in the artistic side of things.  I learned and grew to love and appreciate the work – the singing and directing.  Today, I still enjoy listening to opera but especially Italian operas – the music, the drama!  In particular, it is Puccini’s operas that are most appealling – Madama Butterfly, Turandot, La Bohème, and Tosca.

More recently I found a renewed interest in jazz.  I listened to some early blues – Etta James, B.B. King, and others – a precursor to rock and roll.  I enjoy the rhythms and stories of the music.  I find that I listen to jazz when I am feeling melancholy or vulnerable.  The tender tone of Billie Holliday’s voice is what I want to hear.

So rather than identifying three songs, I chose three genres of music that are important in my life.

Comments are closed.