Day Fourteen:

Today’s Prompt: Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration. If you need a boost, Google the word and see what images appear, and then go from there.

Today’s twist: write the post in the form of a letter.

You have a number of options: you can write a letter to the word or an image, or an open letter to the world inspired by the word. You could pen a series of imaginary notes between you and a friend, or between two fictional characters, or between old you and young you.

Dear Depression,

I try to fight you with all of the ammunition I have – medication, therapy, self-talk, meditation, and exercise.  I used to think that most days I was winning this battle, but lately, I’m not as certain.  You seem to take up residence in the winter when the weather is cold and the skies and landscape are grey.  It’s hard for me to ignore you and to keep you at a distance; you have a way of sneaking in and taking hold, staying for the long term and wanting to go everywhere I go.

I’m not sure why you find me so comfortable!  What is it that makes you want to stick around?  I try to ignore you when I’m meditating, but you interrupt me, with nagging questions.  When I’m running, you catch up and take me by the arm, begging me to stop for just a minute.  The music that I listen to does little to drown out your voice.  I try to watch Sam, my running buddy, as she keeps stride ahead of me.  For a few minutes I am able to let my thoughts focus on her.

You are more of a nuisance on cold, rainy days when I can’t get outside and dig in the dirt, as I try to bury you deep in the earth. There is little that I can do inside to keep you occupied and away from me. Whether I am cleaning, reading, sewing, or watching TV, you are there – always.  I just want you to go away.  I don’t want you around anymore.  I’ve had enough.  I’m tired of you.  Tired.

Comments are closed.